Bypass

bypassHad you clicked on the link to my calendar from either of my websites (www.drcarmont.com or http://www.hrxl.com) you would have seen that I was scheduled to be in NYC with the Major League Baseball organization every week in March. However, you know what they say about the “best laid plans…” I was looking forward to this gig. I love NYC, and I’d spent a day with the San Francisco Giants a few years ago, and even though I’m not much of a sports fan, was excited about the opportunity. But, I had a nagging and lingering hunch that I probably should forego this for physical reasons.

During my last few trips from October onward, I was experiencing challenges whenever I exerted myself physically: shortness of breath, chest pains… I couldn’t make it from one gate to the connecting gate without an electric cart of wheelchair, and when I’d arrive, picking up a rental car, checking into the hotel, getting to the meeting site… you get the picture.

A stress test on Valentines Day was positive and followed by a scheduled angiogram on March 6th. I went to the hospital expecting that I might have to undergo angioplasty to correct some minor blockages. The test showed a 95% blockage in the major artery that feeds the left side of the heart, so immediately I was taken by ambulance to the Hamilton General Hospital for emergency open-heart double-bypass surgery.

That’s now two weeks behind me, and I’m recovering at home. Since I can’t drive or travel for 2-3 months,I’ve cancelled all of my engagements for the next couple of months, I hope to be “back in the saddle” by the first of June. Meanwhile, it may be a couple of weeks before I pick up the “Leadership” theme in my blog again.

IF, however, I were to postulate one “leadership” concept in light of my recent experience it would be “clarity”. When one faces the reality of life/death, it tends to cause all peripheral, tertiary and minor concerns and preoccupations to fade off the horizon. What’s left is what really matters. Can I challenge you to do that? To ask yourself, “what really matters?” Much of that which fascinates, engages and occupies our minds is at best very short-lived. Over the past two weeks, so many friends have surfaced to convey their well wishes. I’ve become more and more convinced that all that endures will be the relationships that we foster, nurture and build. It’s what counts. Take time today to contact someone that’s important to you and let them know.Image

Leave a comment